Belarus to extend visa-free stay in Brest and Grodno to 10 days?


Belarus to extend visa-free stay in Brest and Grodno to 10 days?

The authorities of Belarus announced that Brest will become a visa-free zone, like it is currently in Grodno, another city in the west of Belarus.

"A draft decree of the head of state concerning the establishment of a visa-free entry and exit procedure for foreign citizens is at the final stage of coordination. We are talking about Brest and Grodno, as well as the territories adjacent to them, where the visa-free regime will be extended to 10 days," Deputy Prime Minister of Belarus Anatoly Kalinin said. It is not known when exactly the decree can be signed.

The visa-free regime in Grodno came into force in October 2016.

Tourists can come without visas to the Augustow Canal and the surrounding towns of the Grodno district and the city of Grodno.

You can enter the visa-free zone through three checkpoints:

from Poland - Lesnaya/Rudavka and Bruzgi/Kuźnica Białostocka, from Lithuania - through the checkpoints Privalka/Svindubre and Privalka/Raigardas. Recently Grodno has reported that since the entry into force of the relevant visa law the region has visited 50,000 visa-free tourists.

In the Brest region, visa-free regime is already in force at the Belorussian-Polish border crossing Pererov-Bialowieza. It is enough for tourists to carry a passport and a document confirming the right to visit the national park Belovezhskaya Pushcha. They can stay in Belarus this way for 3 days, but the effect of this visa-free zone does not yet apply to the city of Brest itself.

On February 12, 2017, Belarus introduced a 5-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countries, including all the EU countries, Japan and the USA. This option can be used only by those who arrive in Belarus through National Airport Minsk (except for flights from Moscow). According to, about 80,000 tourists arrived in Belarus in 2017 using the visa-free regime.

Decree allowing visa-free regime in the city of Brest was signed on December 26, 2017. It enters into force from January 1, 2018.

SEE: Belarus extends visa-free stay up to 10 days in Grodno, Brest regions

MORE: 5-day visa-free regime rules