Loshitsky park and museum

Cats

Loshitsky park and museum

The picturesque Loshitsa estate was first mentioned in the 16th century. It was famous for its fertile land, excellent meadows, and beautiful mansion. All the owners of the estate were members of noble Belarusian families. The last owner of the estate was Evstafiy Lyubanskiy.

Thanks to his progressive thinking and talented ruling Loshitsa became one of the best households. Lyubanskiy changed the estate completely. The mansion was restored in the Art Nouveau style.

Thanks to Evstafiy Lyubanskiy the Loshitsa estate became the best example of Minsk’s buildings at the beginning of the 20th century.

Lidia Markovich, Leading Researcher of the Museum of Minsk History:
Each room was made according to individual drawings. He also laid out a park and brought there a number of exotic trees from different countries, a lot of trees from Canada and America. In addition, he brought Manchurian walnuts, apricots, and magnolias from China.

In 1895, a wooden annex appeared in the Loshitsa park complex. That building was constructed for household needs. Weavers, cooks, and coopers lived there. The wing was divided into three parts. Each part had its own purpose.

Lidia Markovich, Leading Researcher of the Museum of Minsk History:
There was a tower, which was used as a lookout point, so that in case of a fire people were able to take measures and save the estate in time. The second part of the wing was two-storied. There, a workshop was situated. The third part was designed for domestic workers.

In the estate, there was also a distillery and two mills. The household was huge. Unfortunately, only a small part of that estate was preserved.

In 1925, the Institute of Plant Industry was located on the territory of the estate.

The soul of the Loshitsa estate was Lyubanskiy’s wife Jadwiga. However, once, local people said that Jadwiga fell in love with a young man. When that fact was revealed, Jadwiga couldn’t stand the disgrace and drowned herself in the river.

A legend said that in the old chapel, there was a glass coffin with the body of Jadwiga.  Evstafiy Lyubanskiy couldn’t put up with his wife’s death, so he moved to the Caucasus. That was the beginning of the estate’s decline.

Of course, with time, some parts of the mansion had to be replaced and restored. However, today, the mansion is back to life.

In the building of the former annex, a museum was opened, so that people could learn about the past of Minsk citizens. The building is almost in a perfect state, though it is more than 120 years old.


Watchman's house in Loshitsky Park

Lidia Markovich, Leading Researcher of the Museum of Minsk History:
The part of the building for domestic workers was separated from the part where the hosts lived by the entrance. The height of the entrance was 1.5 meters, so that the workers had to bow when entering the hosts’ territory.

The Wheel of Time is the name of the current exhibition of the Museum of Minsk History, which was organized together with Sergey Shilo who has a unique collection of the 20th century’s household items from irons with Lev Tolstoy’s portraits to sewing machines and gramophones.


Museum of Minsk History


Museum of Minsk History - interior

The most amazing thing is that all the items made by our ancestors were hand-made.

The main goal of the museum is to introduce people to the life of their ancestors. Soon, it is planned to expand the exhibition and to open the second floor of the wing.


Remains of the old building in Loshitsky Park

Originally written in October 2012