Starodevyatkovichi Village: Unique Church of St. Paraskeva-Pyatnitsa

Cats

Starodevyatkovichi Village: Unique Church of St. Paraskeva-Pyatnitsa

The village Starodevyatkovichi is located in the Grodno region, Belarus. Once there was one village, named Devyatkovichi. But later it was divided into two separate villages: Starodevyatkovichi and Novodevyatkovichi.

In the chronicles, Starodevyatkovichi appeared in 1492, but historians found out that the village had existed for more than 100 years earlier.

In 1350, this village became the property of the Meleshko family. 

In the first half of the 16th century, Devyatkovichy belonged to Ivan Meleshko. His son, who was also named Ivan, wrote a satirical work "Speech of Meleshko Ivan", which is considered as an example of the Belarusian patriotic literature of the 17th century.

Later, this village became the property of the Buslovsky family. In 1819, they built a church there. Nowadays, this church is known as the Church of St. Paraskeva-Pyatnitsa. During the years of atheism, the church was closed but already in 1989, it resumed its work.

Girls who want and cannot get married come to Starodevyatkovichi, to the Church of St. Paraskeva-Pyatnitsa, and prayed to St. Paraskeva that they be married soon. Paraskeva-Pyatnitsa is believed to be a maintainer of domestic wellbeing and happiness.


The Church of St. Paraskeva-Pyatnitsa

In the nearby village Gumenniki, a small chapel, which was built in 1861, can be found.

Next to the chapel, there is a stone with a footprint. Some people believe that it is the footprint of the Mother of God. From time to time, some water collected in this footprint. This water is believed to be healing.