House of Officers in Minsk

Cats

House of Officers in Minsk

Address: 3 Krasnoarmeiskaya Street

Getting there: The best way to get there is by metro (Oktyabrskaya station - blue line). The house is located in the city center, near Oktyabrskaya Square and the Palace of the Republic.

A foundation stone ceremony marking the beginning of the construction of the Military Culture House was held on February 24, 1934.

Taking part in that ceremony were thousands of soldiers and commanders of the Red Army from Minsk.

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Architects call the House of Officers an "all-facade building." The project is unique because the building has no backyard. Each side has its own peculiarities and is thus noteworthy.

The House of the Red Army was inaugurated on November 18, 1936. The military leadership of the country admired the building by architect Iosif Langbard.

Top athletes were trained in the House of the Red Army. There was a gym and basketball and tennis courts.

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

The first swimming pool in Minsk was opened here. It was equipped according to European standards.

The gem of House of the Red Army was a 1,000-seat theater as well as a 500-seat cinema and a conference room.

There was even a solarium in the building (although it is not clear what people meant by this word), a horse riding arena, billiards tables, a radio center, a café and a restaurant, lecture halls, classrooms and a music room.

Interesting facts
- There are seven entrance doors in the building
- The army house was superior to the House of the Government in terms of the richness of its decoration. Much was unique here: from the first indoor swimming pool in the capital to the chess room finished with fine species of wood

During the Great Patriotic War (1941-1945), one wing of the building was damaged by bombing. There are rumors that a public house, a restaurant and a cinema were organized in the second wing by the Nazis.

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

In 1952, a monument was inaugurated near the House of Officers in honor of the heroism of the Soviet tankers who first entered Minsk during the operation to liberate the capital.

This is a monument to the legendary tank T-34, so powerful that it could break the armor of any enemy machine from a distance of 1,000m.

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

To this day the tank stands near the house.

The latest renovation completely changed the entrance hall, the checkroom and the lounge of the ground and first floors. The appearance of the cafeteria and the cinema hall of the Central House of Officers have been refurbished.

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

Unfortunately, many things could did not survive the repair, in particular broad wooden banisters.

The Drama Theater of the Belarusian army is now situated in the building. A 363-seat auditorium, new balconies, dressing rooms and a rehearsal stage appeared there.

The main stage was expanded by 2.5 meters. Modern lifting devices have been installed.

Фото. История и настоящее Дома офицеров в Минске

A theater hall is located in the House of Officers. For many years it has been the hub of Minsk's social and cultural life. All public events - from party congresses to children's parties were held here.